NAD SYLVAN - Spiritus Mundi - Brick Red LP + CD

Regular price $32.98


After the conclusion of the successful “Vampirate” trilogy (2015’s Courting the Widow, 2017’s The Bride Said No, and 2019’s The Regal Bastard), vocalist Nad Sylvan was considering a different approach for his next project. The new album, “Spiritus Mundi”, centers around the poems coming from Nobel Prize winning William Butler Yeats (1865-1939), who Sylvan calls ‘one of the finest poets to come out of Ireland.’

Not having to write the lyrics himself this time gave Nad the opportunity to solely focus on the music. And being off the road due to the pandemic allowed for more time to mix and perfect every aspect. The result is a collection that Sylvan calls his best work.

The album marks a shift musically from Sylvan’s previous outing focusing more on the lyrics and vocals in tandem with gorgeous orchestration and timely melodies.

Sylvan has always managed to cull together a notable cast of guest musicians for his album and this album follows suit. Tony Levin contributes his unique skills on bass to 4 tracks, while Jonas Reingold is also present on bass for one track. For drums, Sylvan targeted The Flower Kings drummer Mirkko DeMaio. And of course, Steve Hackett makes an appearance on one track titled “To a Child Dancing in the Wind.”

Nad himself concludes: “I'm so excited about this release. Anyone who has heard it just loves it. They think that this is my best album and I tend to agree. It’s a bit different than what I’ve done before and that’s a good thing.”



Side A

  1. The Second Coming
  2. Sailing to Byzantium
  3. Cap and Bells
  4. The Realists

Side B

  1. The Stolen Child
  2. To An Isle In The Water
  3. The Hawk
  4. The Witch and The Mermaid
  5. The Fisherman


  1. The Second Coming
  2. Sailing to Byzantium
  3. Cap and Bells
  4. The Realists
  5. The Stolen Child
  6. To An Isle In The Water
  7. The Hawk
  8. The Witch and The Mermaid
  9. The Fisherman
  10. You’ve Got To Find A Way (bonus track)
  11. To A Child Dancing In The Wind (bonus track)
Shipping Details
Usually ships in 1 business days. This may be affected by holidays, promotions, local weather, etc.